A Writing-cation

It’s going to be a short post today.  Sorry, people! I’m actually headed out to Sacramento, and I still need to pack.  I’ve decided to see if it’s possible to go on a writing vacation, or writing-cation for short.  Clever, I know.  😉 Anyways, I’ve heard that sometimes if you go away somewhere and just focus on your writing, you can get a lot done, so I’m meeting my sister and I’m going to spend the next three days just trying to add as much as I can to my word count while she works on her thesis.  My goal is to add 20,000 words by the end of the weekend, but honestly I’ll be happy with 15,000.

I’ve kind of reached a stand-still a little bit with my current WIP.  It’s a sequel to the novel I’m currently trying to get published, and I feel like it isn’t going at all how I originally pictured.  I know in my last post I talked about intuitive writing, but I’ve been having trouble getting into the flow with this work lately, and I’m hoping a change of scenery will help.  Plus my sister has the most recent episodes of Dr. Who saved…but that has nothing to do with my decision to go out there.  Honestly.

I’d be interested to know what other people do when they feel like they’re stuck on a piece.  Do you still force yourself to grind out the words, even if it’s like typing through wet cement? Do you work on something else? Any suggestions would be great! It’s always interesting to hear how different people handle their own writing dry spells.  Thanks, and happy writing!

Published in: on May 11, 2010 at 9:41 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lunaleo.wordpress.com/2010/05/11/a-writing-cation/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I tend to work on something else or take a few days off – but writing is something I do outside of work, rather than my work. If I’m stuck, I move on and come back later.
    Wishing you luck with your writing – and Dr Who watching.

  2. I’ve always wanted to take a vacation, lock myself away and write. Let me know how it goes. It’s on my list. lol. My views on this are strange. When I’m stuck, I like to lay in bed, close my eyes, and play it out like a movie. If this were a movie, what would happen next? It really seems to work well for me. Sometimes I even fall asleep, and the scene unfolds in my dream. Other times, I talk to myself, as the character. What would she say? Then I find myself uncovering something I might not have uncovered just thinking from inside my head. When words come out of your mouth, it tends to go in a direction–whether it’s right or wrong, at least my mind is moving.

    I hope this helps. I am a very visual person, and it really helps to close my eyes and put myself in it, like a movie. No writing, just watching.


Leave a Reply

