Writing waves and embarassing English majors everywhere

Well, today I made my goal.  7,061 words, to be exact, which is actually the most words I’ve ever written at one time.  One thing I discovered was that there is a definite wave to my writing process.  I don’t know how anyone else works, but I had periods of a lot of productivity interspersed with periods of just slowly grinding out a few words. 

I noticed that I’d have some success, and then I’d reach a point where I felt I could stop for the day, but if I kept pushing it, I’d get through a slow word grinding period and into another productive flow.  This makes me think that writing is similar to running a marathon, or any other physical  activity; you might think you’re at your limit, but if you just ride it out, you’ll actually discover that you’re capable of doing a lot more than you originally thought. 

That’s my only thought for the day.  Unfortunately, or fortunately, depending on how you look at it, I ended up going to happy hour with my sister and her friends, and found myself the only english major at a table full of physicists.  Naturally, that meant I had to drink enough beer to understand what they were saying, which lead to the one english joke I know, which is “how much does a Hemingway?” Heh, heh.  Alright, so not so funny, and I think I think I misrepresented engish majors everywhere.  Sorry, guys. 

Anyways, tomorrow’s the last day of my writing-cation, and if I’m going to make my goal of 20,000 words, I’ll have to write another 7,000 words, which honestly I’m not sure is going to happen.  I’ll keep you posted.  Until then, happy writing!

Published in: on May 13, 2010 at 10:07 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lunaleo.wordpress.com/2010/05/13/writing-waves-and-embarassing-english-majors-everywhere/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. And such is life, there is always the possibility to go a little further, and always something left.


Leave a Reply

