Loving those intuitive writing moments

Alright, I’m back from my writing-cation, and I almost met my goal.  I got to about 19,000 words for the weekend, and I was aiming for 20,000, so not so bad.  Definitely more than I’ve ever written in a three-day period before.  And the best part is I have one last chapter and I’ll be done with my first draft.  Then the real fun begins…

One thing I noticed while writing is that I began to get more intuitive lurches.  Things like, “you need to have this character show up now,” etc.  The longer I wrote, the more I felt like I was getting a little bit of help, little nudges in the right direction.  I talked about this briefly in an earlier post–the ability to write intuitively without a real plan, but I wanted to talk about it some more because it is the part of the writing process I’m most interested in.

There was an interesting post by Tribal Writer recently about how you shouldn’t write what you know, but instead, “write what you want to know, or write what you don’t know, but will discover in the telling.”  I found this intriguing because I always felt like writing what I know would be problematic, since I like to write fantasy, or at least have a supernatural twist to my stories, and at least so far in my life I have yet to develop magical talents.  The day is still young, but I don’t really see that in my future.  So, instead I would start with something I know, and then imagine how that would change.  For instance, my current WIP is about a fourteen-year-old girl who is locked into manacles by the god of death and forced into another world.  Not something I would know much about, but as I wrote I’d try to picture what that would be like, and go from there.

I think the best writing advice is not “write what you know,” but “write what you love.”  If you’re enjoying what you’re writing about, then other people will enjoy reading it.  It’s sort of how you can tell if someone is smiling when you’re talking to them on the phone, you can tell if a writer is having a good time.  And while writing, you just need to trust that your subconscious will help you out, if you relax and listen to it.

Published in: on May 17, 2010 at 9:51 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lunaleo.wordpress.com/2010/05/17/lovingthoseintuitivewritingmoments/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I have to agree with the point that if you enjoy writing it, there is a better chance that someone will enjoy reading it. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

